One Down, Two to go

Well, I am through phase one of the P90X program and I gotta tell ya, I feel good. I am finally starting to see some results, physical and internal. I started the program as I had said in one of my last posts with no expectations and lots of baggage, emotional and physical. I was about 50 pounds over weight and feeling old. As I have gone through the program it has strengthened my core and my pain threshold. Let me explain.

When I first started I couldn’t do all of the exercises, I would get half way through or do the minimal amount of reps. This was because I couldn’t stand the burn, I would be all dramatic about the pain, I was looking for attention, wow look at me working until exhaustion, good for you fat boy! But now I know the exercises are a means to an end, the more you do, and with the right form, the quicker you get to your goal. The quicker you get to your goal, the stronger you become, the stronger you become the better you feel.

When I was younger I could do a shoulder stand to plough no problem, this is when you put your legs in the air supporting your lower back with your hands and pointing your legs straight up, then touching the floor with your feet. I just couldn’t do it at the beginning of the program, this was one of the first wake up calls for me, It felt amazing when I finally could do it and now all of the exercises are no longer out of reach for me. I am working the program at 99% now (come on nobody’s perfect). But my core is rigid, my muscles are accustomed to the daily workout and people are starting to notice, down 20 pounds and feeling strong. I have included my second shots of my progress, it may not look like a lot but my love handles are almost gone and there is more definition (well under a layer of fat still). But most of the changes are on the inside, my stomach is tight, my back is tight, my muscles are tight and my confidence is up.

Screen shot 2009-09-17 at 1.59.23 PM

I will leave you with this inspirational quote that I read first in John Krakauer’s Into the Wild:

“…the sea’s only gifts are harsh blows and, occasionally, the chance to feel strong. Now, I don’t know much about the sea, but I do know that that’s the way it is here. And I also know how important it is in life not necessarily to be strong but to feel strong, to measure yourself at least once, to find yourself at least once in the most ancient of human conditions, facing blind, deaf stone alone, with nothing to help you but your own hands and your own head…”
— Bear Meat by
Primo Levi


doug before2

 

Leave a Reply

