Trust Issues

I watched a trailer today for a movie coming out called Submarine. http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/weinstein/submarine/
It’s a fish-out-of-water-teen-love flick (you notice every love story that comes out these days is awkward and bumbling, it’s like love is for the meek). There is one line in the trailer where he says “You are the only person aloud to be shrunk down to a microscopic size and swim inside me in a tiny submersible machine.” (I guess thats where the title comes from) I thought to myself, that would take a lot of trust, they could do some serious damage in there with that little submarine, move synapses around so you piss your pants every time you sneeze or just cut off circulation to whatever just for fun.

It got me thinking about trust and who we put it in. I kind of freaked me out, there is our family, the people we live with that we trust not to poison us (of course not intentionally) by preparing food wrong, or not smother us in our sleep, OK that’s just me. But there are the real nightmare don’t think about it too much or you’ll go nuts ones, like driving. You are barreling down the road and the only thing separating you from hitting someone head on is a painted yellow line! You are trusting everyone you drive by on the road not smash into you. I don’t know any of these people and just going by the law of averages there has got to be someone out there thats crazy enough to do it. But we never think about it. Another one is airplanes, we are 20,000 feet in the air stuck in a little tube with 100 other complete strangers and we are trusting each other not to pull that little handle on the exit door. Who is sitting in that seat, I gotta tell you I always check who is sitting there. To make matters worse they serve booze on flights which is just asking for trouble. You wonder why that flight attendant flipped out and slid down the inflatable fun slide, cause he had to deal with people stuck in a tiny tube day after day. People are unpredictable and this makes me uneasy, the list is endless but I will just list a few to think about. Carnival or amusement park rides, gun owners, any food preparation done by someone I don’t know, safety seals, engineering in general…I could go on but my heart can’t take it. I know I sound paranoid and the less I think about this stuff the better, but just keep your head up out there and you if you do end up sitting by the emergency exit on the plane, just give me a smile and a nod and let me know your not crazy.

Leave a Reply

