The Future

I blogged about this before, that idea that we are supposed to evolve into these 7 foot tall good looking people with technology doing everything for us. Well I thought about it a little more and realized, we won’t be these sublime looking figures with nothing to worry about. It dawned on me that with peak oil, dwindling food supply and increasing competition over resources that we will be come a race of muscle bound, violent, mega-ripped super humans, with technology enhancing our ability to compete, not text our loved ones or stream video. The earth has been around for billions of years and I’m sure the evolution of our species has taken some zigs and zags in the past. And I believe moving forward we will only get tougher, like the Morlocks from H.G. Wells the Time Machine. We are already simple creatures and when it comes to getting our own we can be pretty ruthless. From rain forests to icebergs we don’t really seem to care what gets in our way as long as my latte is hot and I can watch my sitcoms uninterrupted. Also if you plan to colonize Mars before we take over the planet and start to eat each other, then think again. One, how are we going to get there, and two it’s half the size of earth. So even if we send half the people there, it’s full! No more room at the inn. I think we will toughen up, fight to the death every second day and see who comes out on top. Don’t worry though, this won’t be for a least another 100 years and by that time I’ll be dead, I hope my great great grandchildren are tough. Either that or another plague will come and reset the playing field. I wonder if that is our fascination with zombies, are we expecting a zombie apocalypse to save us. It wouldn’t be a bad way to go. At least I would know what to do, we’ve all seen enough zombie movies, I think we’d be well prepared.

Leave a Reply

