Doogie Howser and why I Cheer for the Underdog

I know the title seems a little long but my mind works in weird ways and the thought I had could only be condensed into a sentence that long. For those who don’t know who Doogie Howser MD is see the wiki site. You see my name is Douglas, Doogie is a form of Douglas, like all people we tend to relate to people with the same name, just like how people named Dennis become dentists and so on. See my blog about Generational Knowledge. Anyway I always pulled for Doogie, young kid doing a grownups job, not being respected because of his age, you feel for the kid. He was a genius and sometimes that complicated his life more than it needed to be. You see its not that I empathize with boy geniuses I’m just always sticking up for the little guy. Anytime, anywhere. Sports, politically, celebrities…I need to stand behind the battered, bruised and slighted folk of my world. I don’t know why. Maybe because I was a short kid, maybe because I never grew up rich. Maybe I just have a good moral compass. I don’t know, but what I do know is rooting for the underdog is easier than you think. You may not always win but that’s fine cause your expectations are low, so when you do win it is supremely gratifying. Just ask a Cubs fan or a Clippers fan. High hopes, low expectations.

Recently I heard that gay marriage is legalized in New York State. Hey, as lifestyles go I’m straight, but I can’t help feeling that these people have been waiting way too long for something that should be their right as an American Citizen. To get married, how does that affect anyone besides them. I’m by no means a Scientologist (not that there is anything wrong with that as Seinfeld would say) but I stumbled upon a Scientology promo video on YouTube and one of the questions they asked was “What does a moral person mean?” – 70% more likely to have a successful marriage. Does it matter that they putt from the rough. No! Marriage is a sacred vow between you and your partner to love and respect each other. So let them marry. Viva la Underdog!!!

Which brings me back to Doogie. Neil Patrick Harris, the actor has astounded me and is one of my favourite underdog stories. He was a child actor who made the leap from child stardom to adult fame, that is a feat on its own. But he then shocked the world in 2006 at the age of 33 and announced he was gay. He is a movie star, a television star and has done a musical, Joss Wedon’s musical series Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long (Okay maybe that last one is a little gay) but my point is he owned it. He has done countless other roles hosted Video Game awards, Emmy Awards, Tony awards (Okay that one is also gay) and was named one of Time Magazines 100 most influential people in 2010. So to underdogs everywhere, hang in there, you may feel like you never win, and maybe you won’t, but hey, when you do it’s gonna feel GREEEEAT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

