Chillaxing

What do you find relaxing? How do you recharge your battery? You see my brain is a strange thing, it tells me one thing and does another. My old view of a vacation was just vegging. Not doing anything or so I thought. You see in the last 3 years I have been on a number of trips and after looking back on all of them I realized that there is a common denominator to my enjoyment. Earning my relaxation.

In the last few years I have been to Mexico twice, one was a fun filled excursion filled adventure, that was non-stop everyday for a week. The other was a suntanning by the pool, drinking girly drinks, people watching, maybe some shopping if we could get our lazy asses off of the pool chairs, and enough food to choke a burro. Me and my wife have had many discussions about the trips and decided they were apples and oranges, you can’t compare the two, we loved them both. But when I got back I felt more recharged by the adventure excursion trip.

Same with my honeymoon, my wife had chosen Disneyworld. I thought this was going to be a slow form of torture administered by patronizing mascots, it’s a small world sing alongs and over priced and over greased food but it turned out to be a blast. In the three weeks that we were there we only had two days off, every day we were visiting one of the 5 Disneyworld parks, exploring NASA, riding Airboats through the Everglades seeing alligators at arms length, it was intense but one of the best trips I have ever taken.

The reason I bring this up is I went on a fishing trip to northern Alberta this weekend and where we go there is no power, TV, not even cell phone coverage. So when you want to eat you need to take out the boat, catch a fish, build a fire, prep the food, cook the food and then clean up before you can relax. It seems like a lot of work but the process is what is rewarding. When you taste that Walleye or Jackfish that you cooked on a campfire that you built under the stars, nothing taste better. And when you finally do get to chill and put up your feet…you fall asleep. Or maybe that was the 7 beers, never mind.

You see some people recharge by being around other people (extroverts) they go out party, mingle, dance and others plug-in by being by themselves (introverts) curling up with a good book and a herbal tea. Neither one is right and no one can tell you how to relax, only you know how to do that.

We all need sometime away, so chill how you will, relax and be happy.

Leave a Reply

