Every Cloud has a Naked Lady

Let me start out by saying that I have been surrounded by a lot of negative energy lately. I don’t mean to sound all new age and shit but I have let life kinda get me down. First of all after writing my blog “What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger” about heights, I heard of a friends business acquaintance that fell two stories to his death. I had never met the guy but it shook me pretty good. Then my father-in-law, who is in the hospital, took a turn for the worse. When we called my brother-in-law to come out to visit his dad he was just in the process of planning a celebration of life for a co-worker who died of a heart attack. Everything seemed a little dark.

But life goes on and as Emilio Estevez says in his latest film trailer for The Way, “You don’t choose a life, you live one.” What I think he means by this is, you take what life gives you and deal with it the best you can. One thing the last couple of days has taught me is, things will happen, no matter how safe you are. My father-in-law got better and he is looking good. So as the saying goes “Every cloud has a…” oh yah, that reminds me, I have to tell you about the naked lady.

You see I design a magazine, and as any publisher knows you put everything together, get all the material and no matter how organized you are you always seem to run out of time. So inevitably there are going to be some late nights if not full blown all-nighters. Well one night a few years ago in the wee hours of the morning after my seventh cup of coffee I was in the process of getting the magazine ready to go to print. Crossing all the T’s dotting all the i’s, real mind numbing stuff. Even the coffee was having a hard time keeping me awake. I then saw a glow coming from the window, and not your street light type of glow, but a halogen-make-night-look-like-day type of glow. Well I popped up and ran to the window thinking maybe it was a UFO come to spare me from my monotonous existence and take me on a tour of the moon or some cool intergalactic hot spots. But that wasn’t it at all, as I looked down at the street I could see it was a film shoot of some kind, grips and best boys, personal assistants and production assistants, directors and DOPs, all doing there best to make sure everything was running on schedule. And just then like a vision, a tall blonde model stepped into the light with a white blanket draped over her shoulders covering her down to her knees. The high powered lights made her look like an angel, radiant. She looked down the street past the lights and I swear she was looking at me when a production assistant came over and took her blanket which gently fell off her shoulders. I almost dropped my coffee mug. Right there in the middle of the night, all alone, I was looking at a naked model. She stood on her mark and then the director shouted action from his bull horn, she did a runway walk down the street. It was like watching a gazelle, swan and a goddess mixed into one breath taking sight, she moved with such grace and confidence. She did this about six more times and that was it. The lights went off and everyone cleaned up. Just like that the vision was gone, disappeared into the coming dawn like the stars.

Some of the production assistants on the street said it was for a Danish television commercial but I never did find out which one.

It may not be a naked lady in your case but let’s just use that as a metaphor. It could be anything so keep your eyes open, like Forrest Gump said, “Life is like a box a chocolates, you never know when your naked lady is going to show up.”

Leave a Reply

