Persistence and Pissing in Their Pants

I recently wrote a blog about a video game, NHL11, the blog was called Try, try again. It was about my never ending struggle to beat the National Tournament which is on the superstar setting, the hardest setting in the game. Like Lindsay Lohan with an eight-ball I couldn’t kick the shit until I finished it. Well low and behold I finally beat the fucker and it felt good. I actually did a little jig in celebration. And if you read the Try, try again blog you will see that I said when I beat it “I am going to burn the game in my backyard fire pit as a sacrifice to the hockey gods”. Well I’m addicted now and you’ll have to pry the controller from my cold dead hands, not because I have to beat it now but I know how to beat it. You know you have a problem when your xbox friends and family are like “Damn you play a lot of hockey don’t you.” And they give you that we-need-to-have-an-intervention stare. Fuck em, I needed to work through my hockey demons and I came out the other side having slain the beast and this is how I did it. You see they define insanity as doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Well all this time I have been trying to beat the game by playing hockey, not video game hockey. My brain over my young lifetime has been conditioned to learn how to play hockey, watch hockey, read about hockey, practice hockey, hockey had carved a route in my brain. I have always thought about hockey the same way so I applied this to the video game. It doesn’t work that way, the game is in no way close to hockey. It looks like hockey, sounds like hockey but it isn’t hockey. I had to retrain my brain (See my second ever blog entry about Myelin). Think of it like a hockey game but a puzzle video game, what steps do I need to take to get the black puck pixels in the net looking pixel thing. Once I did this it all fell into place. Remove myself from what I think the answer is and think a different way, get a different perspective. Trust me it works in life too.

You see we need to get a more realistic experience with some of these games before they can make any type of comparison. NHL11 is one of those examples. Also Call of Duty, yah its fun to shot other guys with guns and grenade launchers but if you dropped one of these pimple faced spawn camping pricks in a completely realistic war zone, they would be pissing in their pants. I hope guys don’t think for a minute that if they are good at Call of Duty that they could fuck it up on the battlefield. They are worlds apart. I’ve shot guns and that shit will fuck you up real quick.

It is kind of comforting now that I have had a body of work on this blog that I can link three times in one blog to other blogs I have written. I have come full circle, the snake is now feeding on its tail! Maybe that means I have run out of things to say, maybe I should retire, good night all. Fuck that, you can’t shut me up that easily, until things stop pissing me off or I stop finding things cool, then I will hang it up. But with booze, technology, recreational drugs and a world full of messed up people, I don’t see that happening anytime soon.

PS: So now I have beaten the mighty NHL11 the new game, NHL12 comes out on September 13, so in an ironic twist of fate I will have to start this crazy shit all over again. I can’t believe I pay 60 bucks to torture myself like this willingly and call it recreation. Oh well. Game on!!

Leave a Reply

