NYC and me

 

Since I was a kid I have always wanted to go to New York. Something about it always appealed to me, the size, the mix of cultures, the fact that it never sleeps. It is the capital of the world and most recently it had the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks. I remember the day it happened, I was driving my wife to work. We thought it was a joke at first, a local DJ on the radio announced it and he is known for nutty hijinks. As we listened more we realized this was no joke and this was actually happening. When I finally got downtown I went over to my brothers and watched it go down on his TV. At first it was like watching a movie, so surreal, then the collapse. It didn’t really sink in until later that night what had happened, thousands of people had lost their lives. It hit me pretty hard. Who would do this? I know there are different takes on who is responsible for 9/11 but regardless of what you believe those people did not need to die, no matter who initiated the attacks. New York will never be the same.

Since I was small I keep having a reoccurring dream that I am entering New York City from the outskirts, or one of the bridges and even by water. But I never get there, what does this mean? Will I never make it there? Will New York still be there when I do get a chance to go? My love affair with the city is strange, it’s like falling in love with someone you’ve never met. I have walked the streets on google maps, watched it in movies, written about it, heard countless stories from my friends who have visited, but never once stepped foot anywhere close. The closest I’ve come is Montreal. I need to plan a trip and make sure it happens, as I get older I feel it slipping away from me. I don’t want to be one of those old people on their death bed saying “Why did I never go to New York when I had the chance.” BooHoo, sob, sob. So I will make a promise to you. If I don’t go to New York within the year, then it’s my own damn fault. I love you New York, see you soon.

Leave a Reply

