Nemesis

Sorry for my absence, but between work and family obligations I was indisposed for a while. But my small window of being missing, is nothing compared to an unlikely life killing phenomenon called Nemesis. This is a hypothetical and hard to detect red dwarf, white dwarf or brown dwarf star that is blamed for the mass extinctions on Earth every 26 million years. I first heard of this hypothesis on The Universe. My understanding is that the Sun and Nemesis are a binary star system with a massive orbit, this will cause Nemisis to travel through the Oort Cloud and send debris flying into the inner Solar System taking out whatever life is on our little blue marble with a barrage of ice and rock. I know it sounds a little hard to believe, but look at the evidence, every 26 million years life on earth hits a wall, mass extinctions. Why? Is it Nemesis? is it the second coming? Is it viruses finally evolving to the top of the food chain? We have no clue and Nemesis is as good a theory as any. Honestly we are still banging rocks together, we have no idea what is going on. When our biggest worry is what wallpaper to use on your iPhone, we are fucked as a species. They say the next mass extinction could be anywhere from 300 to 2,200 years according to a USA Today article. Doesn’t really matter to me, I’ll be long gone by then but 12 generations from now my great, great, great, great grandchild will say, that fucking asshole, his blog said he knew this was going to happen. Sorry my future offspring but on a long enough timeline, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero, I think I heard that in a movie somewhere. Anyway it will be quick and violent, like the asteroid coming on February 1, 2019 that has a one in a million chance of hitting the earth. But if it is viral or just a long and drawn out war, then it could be a little more painful. I tend to lean more towards the “It is better to burn out, than to fade away.” Make it quick like tearing off a bandaid. So sit back, relax and if the end comes, smile, wave and take it like a human. Check out Near Earth Objects.

An interpretation of Earth vs. Asteroid.

2 Comments

  1. […] asteroids or comets that want to smash into our little planet and vaporize us. Check out my blog on Nemesis, the only other bully that could cause Jupiter some problems. Also we are in a special zone called […]

    Like

  2. […] thought explorations I’ve had about the big black. A Very Long Distance Relationship 6EQUJ5 Nemesis Out of Sight out of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

