Hidden Meaning

Just today I was looking at a logo that I have seen over a hundred times. I have seen it in every possible light and application. I grew up looking at this logo and honestly just today I noticed something I never noticed before. It was the Hartford Whalers logo from the NHL, the team no longer exists, the team has since moved to Raleigh, North Carolina, USA, and has become the Carolina Hurricanes. They even won a Stanley Cup. The obvious detail I missed was the negative space in the centre of the logo forms an H for Hartford, WTF?!? How could I never have seen this before, do I need to turn in my graphic designer card? Am I banned from ever advising anyone on visual communication ever again. I’m sure I’ll get over it but I pride myself on seeing things no one else does, it’s my job.

Well it got me thinking of other things I might have missed and it got me worried because if I missed them, I wouldn’t know about it now would I? So do what you can, I always say, show the world some examples of clever logos that might have tricked people in the past with there clever use of graphic trickery or just being smarter than the rest of us. Peter Good, a Connecticut-based graphic designer is smarter than me, he designed the Whalers logo, freakin’ smart ass, making me look bad.

So here with my two-cent observations are some logos I have come across that are cool, just by being well designed. Enjoy.

You can see these and many more like it at Bored Panda.

One of my favourite clever logos, there is an arrow in the word Ex.

Clever use of emoticons but it can be dated if used 10 years from now.

Sexy, but I keep thinking of the three-breasted hooker from Total Recall for some reason.

Sometimes the elements just line up and jump out at you.

What is the first thing you think of. Yah me too.

Leave a Reply

