Enjoying my Burrito

As I have mentioned before in my blog, I am a fan of the podcast Nerdist by Chris Hardwick. I listen to it on my commute and it gives me a few laughs and keeps me from ramming my car into the asshole that just cut me off. On the podcast Chris talks to celebrities and comedians and it feels just like you’re sitting in a living room and hanging out with them, only you can’t talk and they can’t see you and they have no idea who you are. Okay it’s nothing like hanging out with them, but a fun listen anyways. Well I came to the podcast late, like 140 episodes late, so I had a lot of catching up to do and me being the ADD brained man I am, listened to them all out of order, picking the celebrities I liked first and then discovering new talent as I went, I am still only about half way through though. Well at the end of each podcast they say, Enjoy your burrito! I was always like, what the fuck does that mean? I thought maybe it was a Southern California thing, large spanish american population down there, who knows maybe he was pandering to the majority. At least that is what I thought in my warped brain.

I woke up this morning and went downstairs, my parents were staying at our house because they were taking an early morning flight to my sisters who lives on the West Coast. So I had my parents there, my wife and my daughter who all wished me a happy birthday first thing in the morning. This is pretty special to me cause I am usually working 14 hour days on my birthday and this year is the first time in a long time I will get to enjoy it. I am also going out to dinner with my friends and then hooking up with some filmmaker buddies after that, pretty good you would think. But as I get in the car to head to work I start to worry about money and deadlines and where I have to be and how I’m going to do it. Black thoughts spiralling around in my brain stirring up a big batch of worry.

Well like a robot I get in the car and start it up, let it run for a bit. Remember I live in Canada it’s cold up here in December. I plug in my iPhone and cue up the Nerdist podcast featuring Rainn Wilson episode#39. I listen and am enjoying the ride but I keep getting more anxious as I think of all of the things I need to do, my brain starts to talk to itself “Who’s going to show up to the dinner? What did my wife get me for my birthday? I hope it’s not underwear, shit that reminds me, I have to buy underwear…” you know how it goes. And then like the perfect birthday present it happens.

On the podcast Rainn is talking about spirituality and how he is the same person whether he is with his wife or playing Dwight or whatever…remember I was still thinking about underwear at this point. Then Jonah Ray, one of the co-hosts on the podcast tells this story about how when he moved to L.A. he was depressed. He would go to his favourite Burrito place in St. Pedro. He would order the burrito, start eating it, be happy, and half way through start to get depressed again cause he would start thinking that when he’s done he’s got to go back to work and he would start feeling shitty. I was really listening at this point cause I was doing the same thing not 5 seconds ago. He decided to not think about what might be and just concentrate on what he had now. Believe in the burrito. Don’t be worried what might or might not happen to ruin the burrito you’re enjoying right now. This hit me like a ton of bricks, it not only changed my day, but I feel my life going forward. You can’t change everything, so live in the moment and be happy.

Michael J. Fox once said in a interview that he doesn’t worry about anything cause if you worry about something, and then it happens, your just living it twice. I truly believe that. And to us nerds, Marty McFly is like yoda, or is it the other way around. Back to Dagobah, good name for a band. Anyway, I think this is going to be one of my favourite birthdays in a long time and all thanks to a little Johah Ray of sunshine and the Nerdist podcast, thanks guys for not only providing me with hours of entertainment, but helping me to see my life isn’t as shitty as I think it is. Enjoy your burrito everyone.

Leave a Reply

