A Milestone

When I was a little kid one hundred was the biggest number I could think of. “If I had a hundred dollars, I would be king” I would say to my eager, but sadly dim-witted younger self. This always seemed to be the pinnacle of hugeness. “I’m going to live to be a hundred.” Even my daughter will use it on me “Daddy…why don’t you listen? I’ve told you like, a hundred times.” There are huge numbers like a million, or a billion or googolplex (no this isn’t the latest in internet search technology, it is a one followed by one hundred zeros) and I can’t compete with those quantities. But one hundred is attainable. One hundred of anything is a big deal too, try counting to a hundred, it takes a minute or two. Try eating a hundred hot dogs, or name a hundred movies you’ve seen. It is a daunting task.

Well this is my 100th blog post, a milestone that I thought would never come. With my penchant for procrastination I’m surprised I made it here. I have explored the depths of my mind and thrown it on the page like clearing seeds out of a jack o’ lantern. It has been not only therapeutic for me (probably kept me sane to have somewhere to vent) but I have also got to know a lot of great people that have not only helped spread the Blond Zombies word, but I have learned from their writings as well.

My writing muscle has been thoroughly flexed and I am more confident working on my other projects. So if you think about it, one hundred posts, at let’s say five hundred words per post (some bigger, some smaller) that comes to 50,000 words! A novel by the estimates in my previous blog post about writing. So if I had to, I could finish a novel. It might take me a while but my brain knows it can be done. I just have to keep going, like it says in my very first blog entry. A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step. -Lao-Tzu. 6th Century B.C. It would have been more poignant if it was a hundred miles, whatever, I’ll take it. So thank you for reading, and commenting, and following. I hope you are still with me at the 200th, and the 300th and the googolplexth milestone posts. I love quotes and here are a few to celebrate the occasion. Take care and keep reading, tell your friends, spread the word. Blond Zombie is on a roll.

I have always observed that to succeed in the world, one should seem a fool, but be wise.  -Baron de Montesquieu

Let me tell you the secret that has led me to my goal. My strength lies solely in my tenacity.  -Louis Pasteur

Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.  -Isaac Asimov

The reward of a thing well done is to have done it.  -Ralph Waldo Emerson

If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.  -Tennessee Williams

The man who is born with a talent which he has meant to use finds his greatest happiness in using it  -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

The world is moving so fast these days that the man that says it can’t be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it  -Elbert Hubbard

Why would you do something a hundred times and not get paid for it?!? You idiot!  -Blond Zombie

3 Comments

  1. Congratulations on this 100th post! I’m excited for you that you’ve gotten to the place where you’re feeling muscular about writing— that’s ideal, as from there, you can go anywhere.

    What I’ve read so far has been compelling, and I look forward to reading more! Nicely done!

    Like

  2. I love the last quote, so true! 😉

    Like

  1. […] blog I wrote was my 200th post, I didn’t realize this until I had posted it. I had written a 100th blog post when I crossed that line, but I missed this milestone by […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

