Viper Spider Pee

You ever have a great idea, one that comes to you and you say to yourself, eureka! I should write that down, and you don’t write it down cause you think it is so profound, how could you ever forget what you were thinking about. Well that is the case with a lot of my ideas, sometimes it is after a few beers, sometimes it’s three in the morning and I jot something down quickly, half awake, half asleep. Ideas can come and go in an instant, so like a butterfly hunter, I try to catch as many as I can. You think it would be easier with technology and there is certain apps that I have that help me. One is the Moleskine app, Moleskine is those black books with the elastic to keep it closed, Hemingway used to use it. The one thing I find funny is it would probably be easier to use the actual Moleskine book (which I have about 5 going at any given time) than use an app that emulates the book itself. Regardless, in this app I have a list of ideas and some I will read over and smile, others I will think may have sounded good at the time, but are shit, and finally the elusive and enigmatic Viper Spider Pee category.

Viper Spider Pee is something I wrote down forever ago, I have no idea what it means. I have googled it, deconstructed it, tried to work it into conversations with people. I don’t recommend the talking to people about Viper Spider Pee, they look at you like you’ve lost your mind. But it is now, one of those mysteries, forever lost in time. The only thing I remember was watching a science show, thought it was interesting and wrote it down. I don’t mind that it is gone, it just bugs me every time I come across it. An unsolved mystery, laughing at me from who knows where.

You remember in the old days, before the internet, someone would bring something up at a party and no one would know the answer, then three days later you would run into your friend and he would say “Remember we were talking about Disney Movies? Well 101 Dalmatians and Peter Pan (Wendy) are the only two Disney cartoon features with both parents that are present and don’t die throughout the movie.” you then laugh and say “That’s right!” You share a moment asked him how he found out and he’ll tell you he had to do some real hard work to make it happen. Well now we just pull out our phones and google it. No more mystery. Simple as that. I heard a story of a party that John Hodgman (That is All, I’m a PC) hosted, no one was aloud to use google, it was a google free party. Brilliant! You don’t know how much you use something until you’re denied it.

So I will stop googling my Viper Spider Pee mystery and see if the universe will somehow let this idea find it’s way back to me. Maybe through my blog, or at a party or some weird accident at a spider farm, who knows. Even my six year old daughter uses google as a verb “Daddy, what does a Cthulhu look like?” I say “I don’t know honey” she then says to me like I should know better “Google it! Come on Daddy!” So maybe I will stop relying on google so much, give my brain a workout every once in while, remember stuff instead of referencing stuff. Have a few more ah-ha moments, instead of uh…wait I’ll google it moments. The mind is a terrible thing to waste.

Leave a Reply

