Shift Up!

Shift happens! Sometimes we initiate it and other times it has a will of its own, you can’t fight it. Our lives are like a winding road with millions of decisions along the way, each time we make a decision it is a tiny shift, even if it’s as mundane as having ham on your sandwich instead of salami, it can lead us down other highways. But I don’t sweat the small stuff, I am talking about the big shifts. The ones that force you to learn new things, to realign your mind, to start anew. Like having a baby, first day of school, a new job, getting robbed, surviving a disease or accident, conquering a fear, realizing a dream or goal, losing a loved one. All of these can fundamentally shift how we relate to the world around us.

Have you ever been in a situation where you are giving a hundred and ten percent but you’re not going anywhere? It is like driving a car, if you want to go really fast you can’t do it in third gear, you’re just going to redline that engine, bad for the engine and bad for you. Shift up and you feel the power kick in, you hear the gears mesh smoothly and grab, sending you flying down the road faster and faster. Life is the same way, shifting may be hard at first, you have to mesh those gears, lose a little momentum, but eventually you’ll be going faster and farther than you ever thought possible.

A lot of good things in my life have come from these shifts, having a kid, quitting jobs that were bad for me, losing loved ones, getting my house broken into. I learned like everyone else, that these things can change you, but the surprising thing to me was that you can initiate the change and in a positive way.

When I first started this blog no one was reading it, and I mean no one, I was throwing words down an empty well. Essentially it was a diary that I hid under my internet bed and wrote in it when I wanted to. I wanted to use it to practise writing. And as my numbers went up I started to write more and more. I thought all this writing would take away from my novels and screenplays, but it hasn’t, it has fuelled them. It took a while, but now I have a great following and my projects are moving forward. It’s like raising your prices, you bump the prices up and people think the quality is better so they buy more. I know is sounds absurd, but it’s true!

Make a shift up, whether it is eating better, learning a new language, or whatever you’ve always wanted to do for yourself. Don’t wait for something bad to happen to make that change. Shift up and use the power you know you have inside you, take the path less chosen, time waits for no man, just do it, use the force or whatever cliché works for you. Kierkegaard once said “Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards.” But I think a more apt quote is by Emerson, “We are always getting ready to live but never living.” Shift Up!

4 Comments

  1. Paul Macko says:

    Keep shifting Doug…I’m enjoying your blog.

    Like

  2. Blondzombie says:

    Thanks Paul, now if I could just get that Hot and Cold App done we were talking about 😉

    Like

  1. […] know I’m always writing about Shifting Up! or getting off the couch or whatever else I feel like preaching about that day, but today it is […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

