Inner Space

Do you know what is going on inside your body? It is an intricate and fascinating machine. Of course I knew about the circulatory system and the digestive system, I slept my way through most of that in high school biology, but the stuff I am talking about is on the molecular level, the really small stuff, so small we don’t have machines to visibly view them because they are smaller than a wavelength of light. That in itself starts folding my brain inside out. We may not have the technology to see what is going on in our body, but we do have the science to guess at what it looks like.

I have been on a health kick lately, trying to eat healthier, I have taken gluten out of my diet, just for a month to see if I notice a difference (okay so I have cheated here and there but all in all, I’ve done pretty good). I have been trying to take better care of myself because as I get older I don’t heal as fast, my aches last longer, my skin isn’t as supple as it once was and me living hard and playing hard isn’t helping out much either. The human body is pretty resilient, it can take a whole lot of shit kicking, but you can’t be living like an asshole and expect to live until you’re a hundred.

I watched this TED talk the other day called Drew Berry: Animations of unseeable biology. Check it out.

This blew my mind. The fact that all these processes were going on inside my body at such an intricate level made me cringe, I was oblivious, I didn’t care before I saw this video. When I would feel an ache or pain I would get mad at my body and curse it for being so lame. I would treat my body like a rented mule not caring how or what it was doing to keep me alive.

Now that I have seen the inner workings of my body and how specialized it is it makes me rethink my health and what I’m doing to keep these little workers inside my body happy and healthy, maybe if I treat them better they will work harder, making more of me, so I can stick around longer with more of you. Whether it is outer space or inner space I think as humans we have so much to learn. To live with reckless abandon may be good for creativity and exploration, but I’m not so sure it’s good for the waste line and the health of your cells. So eat healthy and think small, really, really, really small.

14 Comments

  1. The Hobbler says:

    Whatever happened to “if it feels good, do it”? I miss the good old days. 😉

    Like

  2. The Hobbler says:

    By the way, you don’t sound blonde or like a zombie…faker. 😉

    Like

    • Blondzombie says:

      And you sir don’t seem to be a hobbler…what the heck is a hobbler anyway?!? A guy who walks funny?

      Like

      • The Hobbler says:

        I’m not a guy…and I don’t walk funny much anymore because I am in a wheelchair. (I can use a walker for short distances). Before I got the chair though, yeah, I hobbled. I tried to make it across the room without looking drunk…and then I just tried to make it across the room. (I have Multiple Sclerosis). Then I fell and broke my hip. Divine intervention to keep me from making a bigger fool out of myself. I’m a lot faster now. 😉

        Like

      • Blondzombie says:

        Hold on while I take my foot out of my mouth…my Aunt has Multiple Sclerosis, I know how much of a bitch it can be to live with. As for me I stub my toe on the wall walking down the hallway, at least you have an excuse for being uncoordinated. Hobbled (pun intended) onto your blog just the other day and am liking it, keep em comin.

        Like

      • The Hobbler says:

        So, what’s your excuse. 😉

        Like

      • Blondzombie says:

        Just a bumbling klutz, must be in the genes.

        Like

      • The Hobbler says:

        Don’t feel bad. One of the things I like most about blogging is that people don’t feel like they have to be politically correct around me. Well…some people do, but thankfully I have people like you and Edward Hotspur who aren’t afraid to be themselves. He called me a whore…and a slut…and a lot of other things, now that I think about it, so you still have some work to do.

        I’m glad that you stumbled across my blog, and I am sorry to hear about your Aunt.

        Like

      • Blondzombie says:

        John Lyly said “Children and fools speak true” I guess I’m the latter.

        Like

      • The Hobbler says:

        I wish everyone did. Life would be a lot easier, and a lot more fun too.

        Like

  3. yearstricken says:

    Fascinating. It fills me with wonder.

    Like

  4. I adored both your discussion about reconsidering your own body and food-intake, as well as the TED Talk you embedded. (Is there anything TED cannot do? I love these talks!)

    Years ago, I had developed some food allergies and other problems, and one of the things my specialized doctor did, was change what I ate. Radically. I was in my mid-to-late 20s. These changes were not temporary either. They were to be applied to the rest of my life.

    Despite some slips in the last few years, I’ve kept these changes. (My long-term and short-term ability to function was at stake, which makes decisions a different thing.)

    What I appreciate most about your discussion here is that you are not proselytizing about food or nutrition or diet (said the woman who once proselytized about food, nutrition, and diet).

    At the end of the day, a quiet word and a beautiful presentation can do and say so much. Thank you for doing just that— beautifully.

    Like

Leave a Reply

