Part-Time Vegetarian

My wife is a vegetarian, she does not eat meat. I on the other hand am not a vegetarian, but when I’m at home, I eat what she eats. Vegetables. It isn’t as bad as you think. I used to consider myself a meatatarian. I remember the first time my wife had the idea to go vegetarian more than a year ago. She told me she was going to stop eating meat. I actually got mad, I told her that there was no way she was going to make my daughter and I go vegetarian, I thought it was ludicrous, I pulled out all of the arguments you hear as a meat-eater. Where are you gonna get your protein then? Your gonna smell bad! Tree hugging hippy! It was ridiculous how close minded I was. I did a little research and later said to my wife if it was that important to her, we would do it with her and I apologized for being such a dickhead.

We tried the first time to go vegetarian but we were uneducated. Like most people are. We ate a lot of salads, stir fries, and just raw veggies. But after a while this gets pretty boring and we fell off the wagon. We ran to the store and bought a couple of grade ‘A’ Alberta Beef steaks and BBQ’d them up. Mmmm mmm, it was so good. Some time went by and we watched a documentary called “Vegucated” about the journey of three people to go Vegan. While I think Vegan is a little overboard, it did open my eyes to the benefits of eating vegetables. I’m not trying to convert you, I’m just saying, have an open mind to what is already proven. Trust me, if everything I ate could have cheese and ground beef in it, I would, I love the animal flesh, but too much of a good thing, is too much.

By day a mild mannered vegetable eating tree hugger, by night a voracious carnivore bent on blood. I am a little torn sometimes, I want to tell my wife about a great burger I had, or a perfect steak, but I know she doesn’t care. I feel like I’m cheating on her with my meat mistress (that sounds so wrong, in so many ways). But like I wrote in my blog about anticipation, waiting to have meat makes it that much better. When I go out with my friends, or to a BBQ, I can indulge in my meat fetish. But when I am at home I eat healthy. It’s a win/win situation, how could I complain.

My wife had found a TED talk called “Why I’m a Weekday Vegetarian”. I have included it at the bottom of the blog. It made me realize there is other people out there with the same eating habits as me. This guy has it figured out. And like he says at the end of his talk, if all of us eat half as much meat, then half of us are vegetarians…or would that be a quarter, aww screw it, I was never good at math, just take care of your body and it will take care of you.

Leave a Reply

