Rag Tag Differential

A beautiful complicated mess. Living life without giving a damn. It’s harder than you think. I used to be a selfish little prick and still am to some extent. I tend to go through bouts of selfishness that I think I deserve. I work hard, I should be able to screw around sometimes. Right?

Wrong! You can live a life of leisure if A) You win the lottery B) You work really hard and save up enough to retire or C) You’re homeless. If you decide not to do something, well it’s not going to get done, and if it has to get done, someone else has to do it for you. That’s not taking time you deserve, that’s just piling more work onto someone else. I know this is all a little cryptic but I’m making my way towards a point, just let me rest for a second…

This blog doesn’t write itself and I have been inconsistent from time to time, I’m sure none of you are waiting on pins and needles for the next blog, but if it comes to your inbox, sure you’ll give it a read, why not? But like the saying goes, out of sight out of mind. My life feels a little like that these days. I watched this Youtube video from like the 1950’s on how a differential steering works. It’s kind of complicated, but not, at the same time. To put it simply while a car is turning the wheel on the outside of the turn needs to go farther and faster than the wheel on the inside of the turn. So just like the dynamic in a team, or a business, or in my case a family, if one wheel is going slower the other wheel needs to be going faster. But in the case of this blog there is no other wheels, just me on a unicycle, with a funny hat and twitchy typing fingers. The only place I see the hit is if I don’t write all of the time, and I see that dip in my number of readers.

I recently read a blog that said if you don’t have 1000 readers per day you might as well re-evaluate why you are writing the blog in the first place. I am nowhere near those kinds of numbers and it made me a little anxious. I thought of why I wrote the blog in the first place. It wasn’t to get a 1000 readers a day and sell ads on my blog. It wasn’t even to amass an army of loyal Blond Zombie followers, it was just a place to vent and be heard, practise my writing skills. Don’t get me wrong, I love the readers that keep coming back, your comments and likes make my days a little sunnier. I do this to keep my writing from slipping, a literary workout if you will. It would be kind of weird if I worked out at the gym, video taped it and posted it on the internet, then expected people to like it, visit it and then sell advertising on it. That is why sometimes you may find grammar or spelling mistakes, concepts that may not be fully formed, because I sit down and just brain-puke onto the page, it comes out of my head to your eyeballs, raw and real. And just like going to the gym, I may not want to write everyday, but I find the time, but what is the answer? Quality or quantity? Do I say something everyday or do I just write when I get a fully formed thought? Who knows? Thats the beauty of it, I can do whatever I want, this is the place to figure that stuff out. I won’t bore you too much with my first world problems, but suffice it to say, I will figure it out soon, but I’m glad you’re reading. So I will suck it up and keep my legs in the air and birth more blog babies for you, cause it’s what I do. And it’s a whole lot more fun than being homeless, but if I win the lottery you guys are screwed!

1 Comment

  1. Saul Garnell says:

    Hang in there! Whatever you do, do it because you like doing it. There is no better reason.

    Like

Leave a Reply

