The Next Step

We all have times in our lives when we have to take a look at ourselves. Where we are, what we’re doing and ultimately where we are going. I’ve been having some vivid dreams lately, more vivid than in the past year or so and most of them have to do with a new home I’m exploring, a place that I know is mine but is new to me, if that makes any sense. In my dream this place that has many new rooms and spaces, it’s like I am discovering new parts of myself I never knew existed and it’s quite liberating. Most of the time my dreams give me anxiety “Why can’t I run fast?!?” or “Why am I late for a test in my old high school? Worse yet, why am I in my underwear?!?!?!” they don’t really make sense. But these latest ones seem to be a moving on, or a transition into an new living space if you will, even if it’s just in my head.

I always needed to take the long road to happiness, put in the hard work and someone out there will recognize it and I will be rewarded with gold and frankincense, then be whisked off for my spot on Conan show while sipping thousand year old scotch in the back of a stretch corvette limousine, but it doesn’t work that way. You see, you have to do something you’ve never done before to get something you’ve never had before. It’s that simple. Turn off the main expressway and take an exit ramp, you’ll never know what great roads lie ahead for you. Whether it’s a small change, like saying no every once in a while, or yes for that matter. Or whether it’s just going for a walk twice a week or even a career change. Whatever it is, once you make that change, the universe opens up to you and everything falls into place. Think of it like the game Plinko from Price is Right, you drop that disk and it hits the first peg, then the next and the next until it drops into the prize slot in the bottom. Think of yourself as the disk and death as the prize slot at the bottom, every peg along the way is a decision you make, you decide which way your life goes, pick your pegs, choose your path and have faith in what you choose. Everything else is just survival, pay your bills, don’t go broke and stay healthy and have fun.

It reminds me of a joke about a man who sits and meditates for 40 years on how to levitate, he goes to the buddha and says “Master, master! I can levitate, I can now walk across the water!” The Buddha looks at him and says “Yes, but the ferry is only a nickel.” Don’t spend time on waiting for life to make your decisions for you, make them yourself. Go after what you want…directly.

My wife made a list of 101 things she wanted to do in 1001 days. I find this a great way to take a next step, it gets you out of your comfort zone and forces you to do things you always wanted to do, it makes it a game, a to do list if you will. I am in the process of making my own list now.

So take that next step, like I said in the very first blog I ever wrote, A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step. -Lao-Tzu. 6th Century B.C. You never know where that first step is going to take you, so take it now. Begin, be bold and venture to be wise.

2 Comments

  1. yearstricken says:

    I love the cartoon. Brilliant. I like your words, too. Wise.

    Like

  1. […] a lot of sense sometimes. Then why am I not listening to him?!?” Here’s a few examples. The Next Step There is No Touchdown Dance Breathe Being […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

