We Will Fix You

So, a lot has happened in the last little while. My middle of the prairies city named Calgary, has flooded and had a train derail on a weakened bridge with petroleum tankers on it liable to explode if not handled correctly. All within a week. It’s not hell or high water, it’s hell and high-water…bah dum bum. But all kidding aside the city has been through a lot, but the community has banded together and helped each other out. Here is an example of who and what we Calgarians are all about. The other day they had a call for volunteers to muster at the local football stadium to help with clean up. They asked for seven hundred people, seven THOUSAND showed up. We are just good people I guess, and being Canadian we would probably have being nice hard wired into our DNA. It makes you feel good that you know people are looking out for you, watching your back, especially in your own community. It makes you feel part of something bigger. Not bigger scary, bigger warm and fuzzy. You get the picture.

Image

Hockey for Homes logo, if you are in the Calgary area and would like to play in the tournament go to the Hockey for Homes Facebook page.

I haven’t cleaned up or went door to door to let people know that help was on the way, or even put myself in harms way, what are you kidding? And ruin my new kakis? I’m a lover not a fighter. I give with my brain and designed a logo for a charity Ball Hockey tournament being held this weekend called Hockey for Homes. It’s not much but if it gets them more sponsors or more exposure to help even just one more family, then I would consider that a victory. I will give again when I can, but in the meantime I defer to all of the people better than me in heart and mind that are out there right now in the knee high water doing what they do best…helping out.

So to all of the volunteers and first responders, thank you. And to you families in High River and other areas still evacuated from your homes, we are doing our best, whether it’s raise money, clean up or let people know where to go to help, we’ve got your back.

If you would like to help out, please follow this link here.

Image

1 Comment

  1. Jonah says:

    Hey Doug,

    It’s Jonah — I’ve got some contract work that you might fit the bill for. It’s working on developing training materials, and helping out with illustrations and such. If you’re interested – send me an email.

    Like

Leave a Reply

