Fail More

953a0426747017.56359d8767567

I know, the title seems a little self defeating, but trust me, it’s all good.

At the beginning of the year I put together a list, like we all do at the beginning of the year. We want to better ourselves, we make promises to the New Years resolution god and hope that the mere suggestion of self improvement will make it stick. Newton’s first law of motion is: An object at rest will stay at rest, ergo if you sit on the couch, you’ll stay on the couch. My wife bugs me daily about my ass groove in the couch. Hey, nothing feels better than a perfectly formed couch ass groove. You settle in and you’re done for the night. Funny thing is I used to sit on that couch playing sports video games which is a virtual representation of exercise, so sad. That has changed.

So how do we push on and get up off that couch. Well, one tactic is have no fear. The title of this blog may be a little cryptic, but it essentially means , don’t be afraid to fail. Step out there and put yourself in the line of fire, stick your neck out and take one for the team. Listen, I’m not saying get beat up by life, but don’t be afraid to look like a fool or fall down. You may not, you may just kick it up a notch and surprise yourself.

My friend Kris is a goalie, she had a game the other day and they lost 6-0. You would think this was a fail on her part, but during that game she had 50 shots. So out of those 50 shots she stopped 44 shots! Think of that for a second. Stopping 44 shots is a damn good game in my books. Good job Kris.

So look at things in a different way. Chalk things up as learning experiences or personal growth experiments. Tell yourself whatever you need to get yourself up and out the door. You’re not going to hit it out of the park every time you get up to bat, so take some swings and see where you end up.

I have already started to fail more and win more too in the process, and I feel great, humbled, happy and less afraid. And really, isn’t that what it’s all about? Fail more people, cause like the great Wayne Gretzky said “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

Update: Since writing this blog about a month ago I put the fail more concept into practice, I have lost 20 pounds, started writing my novel APEX: The Catalyst again, I’ve been eating better and working out regularly(P90x3). I am a little over half way through P90X3 and I’m starting to see the results. So don’t be afraid to fail more, I’m not.

1 Comment

  1. i love those little green boxes on the last picture.n where did you get them? Click http://tu2s.in/searchll100830

    Like

Leave a Reply

