My Five

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” – Jim Rohn

I like quotes and this one has always been one of my favourites. I thought I would look into the five people I spend most of my time with and see if it lives up to it’s word. Who are your five people?

  1. My Daughter: Sam is by far my favourite person on this planet. She is also the youngest on this list. She makes me a better person, not only am I responsible for her, I am also her best friend, and her mine. She is kind to animals and brave for a 10 year old. I see the struggle in her eyes somedays as she takes on the world. She handles it like a champ. I have used her example to be stronger so she doesn’t have to take on the world on her own, that’s my job as a dad and as a best friend.
  2. My Wife: Shanon is the love of my life, the mother of my daughter and someone that makes me proud, everyday. She is fearless in the face of adversity, has the patience of a saint and has strong principles. And anyone that can put up with me for almost 20 years is good in my books. She has taught me patience and fearlessness, to not be afraid to tackle what life throws at you, and to let go of what you can’t control.
  3. My Brother: Lee is my younger brother and the luckiest guy I know. He has won a bunch of contests just by being persistent and of course lucky. You can read his blog here. When I think of my brother one of the many quotes that come to mind is a quote by Branch Rickey “Luck is the residue of design.” He attacks everything in his life with his full attention, whether it is documenting our outings with photos or winning a mustang convertible, he never goes half way. It must be exhausting, but what he has taught me is to be better, to go farther, he is one of the reasons I started writing this blog again and inspired me to continue with my other projects. Leave your hopes open to luck, because you never know, this is something Lee taught me.
  4. My Friends: There are too many to mention, I’m not saying I’m too popular, I just know if I try to list them I will miss one and someone will get pissed at me. They will know who they are. My friends are loyal, to have them in your corner is invaluable. We have shared many of my life’s ups and downs and they have always been there. Whether it was something I did or something that was done to me, they were always there to listen. So, from my friends I have learned loyalty, to be the ear to listen or the shoulder to cry on. I owe it to them.
  5. My Hockey Teams: Okay, so this isn’t a person, but I do play a shitload of hockey and spend a lot of time with my teams. From my ice hockey team that plays twice a week, to lunch time ball hockey at work that plays every work day if the weather permits. What these two teams have taught me is honesty and responsibility. If you’re playing bad, they will tell you, if you’re playing good, they will tell you. If you’re being an asshole they will tell you flat out. Completely honest no punches pulled. Also being responsible, if you miss your coverage in front of the net and the other team scores that’s on you. So I have learned responsibility and honesty.

Honorable Mention

I also have a couple of other people I would like to mention that I don’t get to spend as much time with as I would like, but are definitely part of who makes up who I am.

  • My Parents: I’m talking about all of them, my parents, in-laws, biologicals all of them. What I’ve learned from them is love, a parents devotion to their children. I understand what that means now that I am a father, and I thank all of them for that. Like I said before, this is a group that I wish I could spend more time with, but like John Lennon says “Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.”

So who makes you, you? Who are your five and more? Leave some examples in the comments and make sure the people who surround you are good for you. Take care.

Print

Leave a Reply

