Stay.

Growing up and growing apart.
Once best friends, now occasional texts to promise to get together.
Loved ones separated by provinces, water, cities, and distance, find a common ground.
Fate made us siblings, but hearts made us friends.
The social landscape may change, but the people stay the same.

Stay.

Getting bigger, becoming a woman.
I made your mom cry when I told her I couldn’t carry you on my shoulders anymore.
Like a giraffe standing on top of a walrus, it should be funny.
Becoming a best friend rather than just a parent is amazing.
Then why am I so sad to see it happen.
Stupid nostalgia.

Stay.

Numbness, bad vision, aches, pains.
Breaking down, healing slower.
Same brain, different body.
Why do I still feel like I’m 25? I then catch a glimpse of the back of my hands.
Wrinkled like my fathers. Like my father’s father.
Skin folded and compressed like the timelines in my mind.
When will I forget I wrote this.

Stay.

Two decades.
I’ve almost been with you longer than not being with you.
Life without you doesn’t make sense.
I can’t explain what we have, it’s more amazing than anything I could have dreamt up.
For better, or worse, but worse strengthens our bond. So the better, is better.
You make me better. I make you better.

Stay. Please. Stay.

A best friend to my best friend, a teacher, a fighter.
A sister, a mother, a grandmother, a beloved.
One of my three mothers.
Fuck cancer.

Stay. For just a little longer.

Why has it taken me so long to trust myself?
To settle the maelstrom in my mind.
To herd the cats I call my thoughts.
Ducks in a row. Dougs in a row.
Row, row, row your boat, upstream.
I’ve made it this far without a paddle.

Stay.

We try so hard to stay the same.
To find comfort in the familiar.
When the nature of the universe is to change.
To change us.
Like Indiana’s Boulder chase, we run in the opposite direction.
Grasping at memories, people, and routines along the way.
Until that boulder catches up.
And it will.
To all of us.

Stay.

So find love where you will.
Comfort where it is needed.
Friendship when it’s deserved.
Time can only push us around so much.
So, for now, I think I’m just going to stay still in my thoughts…
…even if for just a little while.
Because I can…

Stay.

4 Comments

  1. Denis Labelle says:

    Wonderful wording. Deeply touching. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gerda says:

    You do have a way with words. Nicely put thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicole says:

    😊nice

    -nik

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicole says:

    😊nice

    -nik

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

